WG 4: Reconfigurable devices for secure functions

WG Leaders

  • Viktor Fischer, U. Jean Monnet St.-Etienne, fischer[at]univ-st-etienne.fr
  • Nele Mentens, KU Leuven, nele.mentens[at]esat.kuleuven.be

This WG is focused on the following issues:

1. Mitigation architectures on FPGAs to counteract fault attacks
Many techniques have recently been developed to protect critical systems on SRAM-based FPGAs against Single Event Upset. At the design level of the FPGA these techniques are classified as mitigation techniques, which prevent faults to affect the target design, and recovery techniques that repair erroneous bits of the FPGA configuration memory. These techniques will be investigated and re-adapted to cope with the issue of fault attacks.

2. Self-repairable architectures of secure devices
New characteristics of recent commercial FPGA devices allow the partial re-configuration of the circuit implemented in it. By exploiting this inherent property of FPGAs, new implementations of self-repairable cryptographic logic based on FPGA-implemented detection and recovery mechanisms will allow correcting errors provoked by fault attacks.

Working Group Participants

Name Country Email
Chairs: Viktor Fischer FR fischer@univ-st-etienne.fr
Nele Mentens BE Nele.Mentens@esat.kuleuven.be
1 Nicolas Sklavos GR nsklavos@ieee.org
2 Francesco Leporati IT francesco.leporati@unipv.it
3 Lilian Bossuet FR lilian.bossuet@univ-st-etienne.fr
4 Lejla Batina NL lejla@cs.ru.nl
5 Julien Francq FR Julien.Francq@cassidian.com
6 Guy Gogniat FR guy.gogniat@univ-ubs.fr
7 Carles Ferrer ES carles.ferrer@uab.cat
8 Milos Drutarovsky SK Milos.Drutarovsky@tuke.sk
9 Francesco Regazzoni CH regazzoni@alari.ch
10 Paolo Maistrii FR paolo.maistri@imag.fr
11 Tim Güneysu DE tim.gueneysu@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
12 Róbert Lórencz CZ lorencz@fit.cvut.cz
13 Apostolos Fournaris GR apofour@ece.upatras.gr
14 Jo Vliegen BE jo.vliegen@esat.kuleuven.be
15 Selcuk Baktir TR selcuk.baktir@bahcesehir.edu.tr
16 Konstantinos Markantonakis UK K.Markantonakis@rhul.ac.uk
17 Stjepan Picek NL picek.stjepan@gmail.com
18 Patrick Haddak FR patrick.haddad@univ-st-etienne.fr
19 Richard Newell US
20 Ioannis Voyiatzis GR voyageri@teiath.gr
1 Bernd Becker DE becker@informatik.uni-freiburg.de
2 Paris Kitsos GR pkitsos@eap.gr
3 Osnat Keren IL osnat.keren@biu.ac.il
4 Assia Tria FR tria@emse.fr
5 Ilia Polian DE ilia.polian@uni-passau.de
6 David Hély FR david.hely@lcis.grenoble-inp.fr
7 Pedro Peris-Lopez ES pperis@inf.uc3m.es
8 Geert-Jan Schrijen NL Geert.Jan.Schrijen@INTRINSIC-ID.COM
9 Vincent van der Leest NL Vincent.van.der.Leest@intrinsic-id.com
10 Viacheslav Izosimov SE Viacheslav.Izosimov@eis.semcon.com
11 Giorgio Di Natale FR giorgio.dinatale@lirmm.fr
12 Jean-Luc Danger FR jean-luc.danger@telecom-paristech.fr
13 Sylvain Guilley FR sylvain.guilley@telecom-paristech.fr
14 Shivam Bhasin FR shivam.bhasin@telecom-paristech.fr
15 Olivier Rioul FR olivier.rioul@telecom-paristech.fr