WG 3: Fault attack detection and protection

WG Leaders

  • Bernd Becker, Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg, becker at informatik.uni-freiburg.de
  • Bruno Rouzeyre, U. of Montpellier II, rouzeyre[at]lirmm.fr

This WG is focused on the following issues:

1. Using redundancy to detect fault attacks
Redundancy methods have been proposed to detect errors in data processed by a device embedding secret information. Error detection exploits different forms of redundancy, namely temporal (i.e., calculating twice the same function and comparing the two results), hardware (where two devices are instanced for the same function) and information redundancies (that consists in checking for possible mismatches between a code predicted for an output from the current input, and the code of the actual output of the process). The Action will investigate design methods and synthesis flow to transform an unprotected circuit into a robust design protected by such techniques.

2. Cross-level optimizations on residual weak spots in the circuit
This activity will provide a methodology for designing cost-efficient robust circuits that have limited energy budget and constraints on area overhead at the same time. The robustness will be achieved by an efficient cross-level combination of redundancy techniques. Parts of the circuit will be protected by low-level hardening techniques such as transistor upsizing or gate duplication (hardware redundancy), while the residual circuitry is protected by advanced error- detecting codes (information redundancy). Related selective hardening strategies have been applied in the past to protect circuits against random errors at low cost. Their application to security threats and the combination with information redundancy is a novel approach.

Working Group Participants

Name Country Email
Chairs: Bernd Becker DE becker@informatik.uni-freiburg.de
Bruno Rouzeyre FR rouzeyre@lirmm.fr
Members:
1 Nicolas Sklavos GR nsklavos@ieee.org
2 Lilian Bossuet FR lilian.bossuet@univ-st-etienne.fr
3 Zebo Peng SE zebo.peng@liu.se
4 Osnat Keren IL osnat.keren@biu.ac.il
5 Lejla Batina NL lejla@cs.ru.nl
6 Julien Francq FR Julien.Francq@cassidian.com
7 Assia Tria FR tria@emse.fr
8 Ilia Polian DE ilia.polian@uni-passau.de
9 Nele Mentens BE Nele.Mentens@esat.kuleuven.be
10 David Hély FR david.hely@lcis.grenoble-inp.fr
11 Said HAMDIOUI NL S.Hamdioui@tudelft.nl
12 Carles Ferrer ES carles.ferrer@uab.cat
13 Philippe Loubet Moundi FR Philippe.LOUBET-MOUNDI@gemalto.com
14 Viktor FISCHER FR fischer@univ-st-etienne.fr
15 Marie-Lise FLOTTES FR flottes@lirmm.fr
16 Francesco Regazzoni CH regazzoni@alari.ch
17 Paolo Maistri FR paolo.maistri@imag.fr
18 Tim Güneysu DE tim.gueneysu@ruhr-uni-bochum.de
19 Franck Courbon FR Franck.Courbon@gemalto.com
20 Róbert Lórencz CZ lorencz@fit.cvut.cz
21 Viacheslav Izosimov SE Viacheslav.Izosimov@eis.semcon.com
22 Urban Ingelsson SE urban.ingelsson@semcon.com
23 Jean-Max Dutertre FR dutertre@emse.fr
24 Linus Feiten DE feiten@informatik.uni-freiburg.de
25 Ricardo Chaves PT ricardo.chaves@inesc-id.pt
26 Noemie Boher FR noemie.boher@lcis.grenoble-inp.fr
27 Apostolos Fournaris GR apofour@ece.upatras.gr
28 Suleyman.Tosun Suleyman.Tosun@ankara.edu.tr
29 Giorgio Di Natale FR giorgio.dinatale@lirmm.fr
30 Feng Lu FR feng.lu@lirmm.fr
Others:
1 Paris Kitsos GR pkitsos@eap.gr
2 Artemios Voyiatzis GR bogart@isi.gr
3 Guy Gogniat FR guy.gogniat@univ-ubs.fr
4 Pedro Peris-Lopez ES pperis@inf.uc3m.es
5 Milos Drutarovsky SK Milos.Drutarovsky@tuke.sk
6 Salvador Manich ES salvador.manich@upc.edu
7 Jean-Luc Danger FR jean-luc.danger@telecom-paristech.fr
8 Sylvain Guilley FR sylvain.guilley@telecom-paristech.fr
9 Shivam Bhasin FR shivam.bhasin@telecom-paristech.fr
10 Olivier Rioul FR olivier.rioul@telecom-paristech.fr