WG2: Trustworthy manufacturing of secure devices

WG Leaders

  • Lilian Bossuet, U. Jean Monnet St.-Etienne, lilian.bossuet[at]univ-st-etienne.fr
  • Paris Kitsos, Hellenic Open U., pkitsos[at]eap.gr

This WG is focused on the following issues:

1. PUFs for precise identification of secure devices
Physically Unclonable Functions (PUFs) are hardware components with the properties of inherent uniqueness, unclonability and tamper evidence which enable a number of interesting applications. A physical token embedding a PUF can use the PUF’s responses as a unique identifier. Since the response behavior is in practice physically unclonable, even for the manufacturer of the tokens, they are effectively unforgeable. This makes PUFs a very useful tool for precise identification of secure devices, for creating custom and powerful authentication mechanisms, and for anti‐counterfeiting technologies. This activity of the COST Action will focus on the study and the implementation costs of the wide variety of known PUFs, and possibly to invent new architectures.

2. Hardware Trojan detection
In order to reduce manufacturing costs, the fabrication of integrated circuits is nowadays migrating offshore, making circuits vulnerable to security compromise, functional changes, information leaks or even catastrophic system failures under specific conditions. The threat brought by Hardware Trojans, which was under-estimated for long time, begins to materialize. On the other hand, Hardware Trojans can even be an effective vehicle for destabilization of states (for terrorist or criminal organizations) and businesses (by mafias or fraudulent competitors). For this reason, Hardware Trojan detection mechanisms are becoming more important in ensuring a trustworthy hardware environment.

Working Group Participants

Name Country Email
Chairs: Lilian Bossuet FR lilian.bossuet@univ-st-etienne.fr
Paris Kitsos GR pkitsos@eap.gr
Members:
1 Nicolas Sklavos GR nsklavos@ieee.org
2 Osnat Keren IL osnat.keren@biu.ac.il
3 Artemios Voyiatzis GR bogart@isi.gr
4 Lejla Batina NL lejla@cs.ru.nl
5 Julien Francq FR Julien.Francq@cassidian.com
6 Assia Tria FR tria@emse.fr
7 Nele Mentens BE Nele.Mentens@esat.kuleuven.be
8 David Hély FR david.hely@lcis.grenoble-inp.fr
9 Bruno Rouzeyre FR rouzeyre@lirmm.fr
10 Said HAMDIOUI NL S.Hamdioui@tudelft.nl
11 Pedro Peris-Lopez ES pperis@inf.uc3m.es
12 Philippe Loubet Moundi FR Philippe.LOUBET-MOUNDI@gemalto.com
13 Milos Drutarovsky SK Milos.Drutarovsky@tuke.sk
14 Marie-Lise FLOTTES FR flottes@lirmm.fr
15 Francesco Regazzoni CH regazzoni@alari.ch
16 Franck Courbon FR Franck.Courbon@gemalto.com
17 Róbert Lórencz CZ lorencz@fit.cvut.cz
18 Julian Murphy UK j.p.murphy@qub.ac.uk
19 Philipp Jovanovic DE jovanovic@fim.uni-passau.de
20 Ulrich Rührmair DE ruehrmair@ilo.de
21 Ioannis Voyiatzis GR voyageri@teiath.gr
Others:
1 Francesco Leporati IT francesco.leporati@unipv.it
2 Ilia Polian DE ilia.polian@uni-passau.de
3 Guy Gogniat FR guy.gogniat@univ-ubs.fr
4 Carles Ferrer ES carles.ferrer@uab.cat
5 Geert-Jan Schrijen NL Geert.Jan.Schrijen@INTRINSIC-ID.COM
6 Vincent van der Leest NL Vincent.van.der.Leest@intrinsic-id.com
7 Viktor FISCHER FR fischer@univ-st-etienne.fr
8 Viacheslav Izosimov SE Viacheslav.Izosimov@eis.semcon.com
9 Giorgio Di Natale FR giorgio.dinatale@lirmm.fr
10 Salvador Manich ES salvador.manich@upc.edu
11 Jean-Luc Danger FR jean-luc.danger@telecom-paristech.fr
12 Sylvain Guilley FR sylvain.guilley@telecom-paristech.fr
13 Shivam Bhasin FR shivam.bhasin@telecom-paristech.fr
14 Olivier Rioul FR olivier.rioul@telecom-paristech.fr
15 Sophie Dupuis FR sophie.dupuis@lirmm.fr